Canada Flag federal election

By Korie Marshall

General voting day for the federal election is Oct. 19th, and though only one candidate is confirmed so far by Elections Canada, at least three other parties have announced their candidates for the newly renamed Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies riding.

Incumbent Bob Zimmer is the confirmed candidate for the Conservative Party. Zimmer has been MP since 2011 after long-time Member of Parliament Jay Hill retired. Todd Doherty is the Conservative candidate for Cariboo-Prince George. Dick Harris, current Conservative MP for Cariboo-Prince George is not running for re-election.

Matt Shaw will run for the Liberals in Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies. Shaw was acclaimed at a mid-August nomination meeting along with Tracy Calogheros for Cariboo-Prince George.

New Democratic Party candidate Kathi Dickie was nominated for Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies. Trent Derrick won the nomination for Cariboo-Prince George on Aug. 24th.

Elizabeth Biggar won the Green Party nomination for Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies on Aug. 28th, and Richard Jaques is the Green candidate for Cariboo-Prince George.

Adam De Kroon is running for the Christian Heritage Party in Cariboo-Prince Geroge; no candidate has been named for Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies.

Todd Keller is the Libertarian Party’s representative for Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies; none has yet been named for Cariboo-Prince George.

Valemount has been part of the Kamloops-Thompson-Cariboo for the last decade, but rejoins McBride this election with the recent federal riding boundary changes.

The Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies riding covers the northeast corner of the province to the Alberta, Yukon and Northwest Territories borders, including Highway 97 north of Prince George.

You can confirm if you are registered to vote, see what type of ID you need, check out who your candidates are and much more on Elections Canada’s website, at