By Andrea Arnold

The names of those running in the McBride 2022 Municipal Election were made public on Friday September 9, 2022. 

For the office of Mayor, current Councillor Lucille Green, and incumbent Mayor Gene Runtz have thrown their hats into the ring.

Six community members have joined the race for the four Councillor seats. Peter Caputo, Glen Frear, incumbent Allan Frederick, Joe Kolida, incumbent Diane Smith and Kat Vickery.

The only Regional District of Fraser-Fort George Electoral Area H candidate is incumbent Dannielle Alan. Unless Alan withdraws from the election, she will be voted in through declaration of election by acclamation on September 19, 2022. If this happens, there will be no need for voting stations to be arranged. School District 57 has already announced that Bob Thompson will continue to serve the Robson Valley as Trustee as he is the only candidate.

In upcoming issues, the Goat will be providing candidates the opportunity to express their backgrounds and platforms.  

General Election day is Saturday, October 15, 2022 8:00am-8:00pm. In McBride voting will occur at McBride Council Chambers, 100 Robson Centre. There will be an advanced voting opportunity Wednesday, October 5, 2022 from 8:00am-8:00pm also held at Council Chambers, 100 Robson Centre.

The village is providing a special voting opportunity for those who are qualified under the Local Government Act and who, on Friday October 14, 2022, and before the end of the voting hours for the special voting opportunity, have been admitted as patients to the McBride & District Hospital 9:00am-10:30am or as residents of the Beaver View Lodge or McBride Mountain Manor in McBride 10:30am-12:00pm.